Skip navigation

I started this blog because I’m “addicted” to music.  My free time on the internet is usually divided between sarcastic and/or silly replies to someone’s Facebook status 🙂 and looking for new music.  Because of this it always seems like music is the most frequently chosen way that God speaks to me.  It is a rare occurrence, but I’ll hear a song where lyrics are so impacting they rattle around in my head for the remainder of the day…and sometimes into the next.  Often I dwell on the words, and a high percentage of the time, find them, almost verbatim, in the bible.  I started this blog to share those occurrences.

Yesterday was one of those instances where a song really hit me.  I stumbled across a MySpace page called Enter the Worship Circle.  The third song in the player, “Orphan’s Song” by Karla Adolphe, is what hit me.  You can preview  it on last.fm here or check out this youtube video that has the music in the background.

It’s a simple song, just her vocals and a guitar, but the message is really strong.  I can so identify with the first verse, since it was only a few years ago that I found Christ, and still remember that emptiness…

Here are the lyrics:

V1
We are the orphan boys, we are forgotten girls
We are lost and far from home
We are the fatherless, born of dust and nothingness
We are lost and far from home

Chorus
There is no love like Yours in all the earth
There is no love like Yours in the universe
There is no love that heals my broken heart
There is no love like Yours at all

V2
I’ve heard about a foreign land, about a son and His great big dad
I’m making my plans to be there
They say it’s a beautiful place, full of big wide open spaces
I’m making my plans to be there

V3
There roads have familiar names, this town has not changed
I’m finding my way back home
You call me daughter, you call me son, you call me back into Your arms
I’m finding my way back home

Leave a Reply

